DEEPLY FREE – Exploring the Deep Blue Sea


“What is a scientist after all? It is a curious man looking through a keyhole, the keyhole of nature, trying to know what’s going on.” Jacques Cousteau

After hours of training and a month’s worth of neophyte scuba diving, I finally got confident and relaxed enough to begin to really observe and interact with my surroundings.  So, at about 40 feet under the Caribbean Sea, I sat down next to a reef full of complex life and began to introduce myself.

I could not have been alone for more than five minutes, when they began to arrive from all directions; a Kaleidoscope of sea life. In an instant I was eyeball to eyeball with an absolutely breathtaking beauty; a Queen Angelfish. Just above my head, a busy little Clown Fish was trying to figure if my waving hair was some unique Sea Anemone; then a squadron of Sergeant Major fish, in tight formation, whizzed by me rolling their eyes as they passed. The strange sequence of my escaping air bubbles betrayed my laughter.

Suddenly my new friends all disappeared and everything grew quite still. Surprised, I turned to look around, and there right behind me were four very large, very inquisitive Barracuda; seemingly frozen in place.  I knew they were not dangerous and so I sat very still and stared at them, and they, in turn,  stared back at me. I bubbled out “Hi” and with looks of both shock and disdain they, in an instant, fled.

Time was up, and time for me to ascend back into Earthworld.  Yes, down beneath the sea we are in a different world.  It is so unique, so stunningly beautiful and potentially challenging that you quickly realize you are only a visitor. The combination of contrived weightlessness from my buoyancy compensator and the expansiveness of the environment overpowered me with a sense of complete, peaceful freedom. I did not want to leave.

All of this magnificence is under duress from the pressure of our general ignorance or intentional indifference to this universe of the deep blue sea. We are polluting it, over-harvesting its marine life, abusing its reef environments and generally ignoring it critical role in sustaining all life on Earth.

In future issues of this blog we will explore with some of the most important and famous undersea explorers to learn more about life in the deep and how its life thrives and in thriving helps to preserve our lives. Please join us on these future expeditions.

Special Note: Twitter members are encouraged to find and follow the family members of Jacques Cousteau who continue to help us understand a universe that occupies over 70.8% of our planet.

CREDITS:

The beautiful coral reef picture is from Science Matter in an article by Kristen Rosenthal.

Explore posts in the same categories: Earth, Humankind and Exploration, Marine Biology, Precious Planet, Scientific Research

4 Comments on “DEEPLY FREE – Exploring the Deep Blue Sea”


  1. Argggghh, my deepest apologies for my terrible faux paux regarding the percent of Earth that is oceanic. Somehow I thought a 9 was a 7. The precise figure is 70.8 percent of the Earth’s surface is covered by water.

    Yes a total melting of both ice caps might get us close to my wrong percentage, but we are not there….YET!


  2. A recent report carried in “Space Daily” talks about the sharp decline in Mangrove forests which are key filtering systems for our oceans and bays. Here is the link: http://bit.ly/bMFzrP, please have a look.


  3. Great article. It reinforces what we know but tend to repress…that we’ve transformed earth into electrified cesspool. The Deep Blue Sea doesn’t just say it, it makes us feel it.

    • XiNeutrino Says:

      Thank you for your comment, and yes I agree we seem blinded by ourselves to all that surrounds us. Pleased you enjoyed the article. I don’t get to SCUBA dive any longer and I miss Deeply Free almost daily.


Leave a Reply

